By continuing, you accept the use of cookies, including third party cookies. More information

Accept

Tue 17 December — Thu 02 January

Les Contes d’Hoffmann

Category
Opera & operetta
Place
La Monnaie
Show/hide the menu
Les Contes d’Hoffmann © Asimina Giagoudaki | Millennium Images UK

Description

Three women in the same woman! Three souls in a single soul!

In this opéra fantastique by Jacques Offenbach, the writer E.T.A. Hoffmann is the protagonist who wanders through three of his own stories. His romances with the automaton Olympia, the critically ill Antonia, and the deceitful Giulietta all come to an end when the delicate dream meets the harsh reality. After a life devoted to operetta, Offenbach composed his first real opera shortly before his death. The work shows the same melodic richness as his operettas, but laughter here makes way for the melancholy poetry of vain hope and shattered ideals. The universality of the quest for true love, which clashes with the superficial projections of the subconscious, makes this opera a timeless work. Director Krzysztof Warlikowski and conductor Alain Altinoglu take on the challenge of revealing the essence of a work in which time and space are merely the remnants of a crumbled mosaic. 

Photos and videos

Practical information

Dates

Tuesday, December 17, 2019 — Thursday, January 2, 2020

Place

La Monnaie

Place de la Monnaie
1000 Brussels

T. +32 2 229 12 11 (Information)

T. +32 2 229 12 11 (Booking)

M. info@lamonnaie.be

http://www.lamonnaie.be

More information

Date and time

Tuesday, December 17, 2019 from 7:00 PM

Thursday, December 19, 2019 from 7:00 PM

Friday, December 20, 2019 from 7:00 PM

Sunday, December 22, 2019 from 3:00 PM

Friday, December 27, 2019 from 7:00 PM

Sunday, December 29, 2019 from 3:00 PM

Tuesday, December 31, 2019 from 6:00 PM

Thursday, January 2, 2020 from 7:00 PM

Organiser

La Monnaie

Your opinion