By continuing, you accept the use of cookies, including third party cookies. More information

Accept

Until Wed 31 March 2021

Great Black Music

Category
Multidisciplinary
Place
Halles de Schaerbeek
Show/hide the menu
Great Black Music

Description

⚠ Essential for the visit: take your personal wired headphones with you. 

Booking is required

⚠ Take your wired earphones with you, they are necessary for the visit. (no bluetooth!!)

Mandinka griots, Mississippi bluesmen playing melancholic tunes, New Orleans bars, Manhattan clubs, Yoruba rhythms, Afrobeat, Maloya chants, samba… from the ska and reggae from Kingston to the hip-hop from the Bronx: the voice, the tempo, the rhythm, the untamed soul of millions of deported slaves has created an incredibly rich musical history.

Four hundred years of injustice haven’t stopped creativity and freedom. Black music has shaped the pop culture all around the globe and transcends ethnic and nationalist ideas. That music is at the same time African, American, Caribbean and European. It crossed continents and centuries. Each generation remembers a specific tune and all the emotions that came with it, a certain groove. Les Halles recreate the Great Black Music exhibition to tell this extraordinary story.

How can you do justice to the thousands of artists that live in our memory? We can’t cover them all, so we have decided to cover a few sensorial and immersive themes. We looked at geography and history and went through hundreds of audio and video documents, films and images to create an interactive story. This exhibition is not academic but is about feelings. Like Adarno said: ‘Knowledge has no other light than that of redemption relating to the world: everything else is exhausted in reconstruction and remains simple technique.’

*Reservation required
- Online with visa and mastercard payment
- On site with maestro/bancontact with pre-booking required on 02 218 21 07 or on reservation@halles.be (Please note that there is no cash payment possible)

Post visit access

Photos and videos

Practical information

Dates

Tuesday, February 2, 2021 — Wednesday, March 31, 2021

Timetable

Saturday, March 6, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Sunday, March 7, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Tuesday, March 9, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Wednesday, March 10, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Thursday, March 11, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Friday, March 12, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Saturday, March 13, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Sunday, March 14, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Tuesday, March 16, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Wednesday, March 17, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Thursday, March 18, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Friday, March 19, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Saturday, March 20, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Sunday, March 21, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Tuesday, March 23, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Wednesday, March 24, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Thursday, March 25, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Friday, March 26, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Saturday, March 27, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Sunday, March 28, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Tuesday, March 30, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Wednesday, March 31, 2021 from 2:00 PM

Place

Halles de Schaerbeek

Rue Royale Sainte-Marie
1030 Schaerbeek

T. +32 2 218 21 07 (Information)
T. +32 2 218 21 07 (Booking)
M. info@halles.be
http://www.halles.be

More information

Organiser

Halles de Schaerbeek