Thu 11 May 2023 — Sat 27 May 2023

Henry VIII

Category
Show
Place
La Monnaie
Show/hide the menu
Henry VIII © Lissyelle Laricchia

Description

Who can govern when in love?

First produced in 1883, at a time when French opera was seeking to reinvent itself, Henry VIII is a final tribute to the historical panoramas of grand opera. The work tells the story of the infamous Tudor king who, having fallen in love with Anne Boleyn, sets out to divorce Catherine of Aragon, thereby causing a rift between the Church of England and Rome.

Though overshadowed by the tremendous popularity of Samson et Dalila, Henry VIII is a carefully crafted orchestral score characterized by stark operatic contrasts: between passion and modesty, jealousy and renunciation, intimacy and solemnity. La Monnaie has entrusted this key work in Camille Saint-Saëns’ oeuvre to two ardent champions of the French repertoire: Alain Altinoglu and Olivier Py can be relied upon to do real justice to the piece.

Photos and videos

Practical information

Dates

Thursday, May 11, 2023 — Saturday, May 27, 2023

Timetable

Thursday, May 11, 2023 from 7:30 PM

Saturday, May 13, 2023 from 7:30 PM

Tuesday, May 16, 2023 from 7:30 PM

Thursday, May 18, 2023 from 7:30 PM

Sunday, May 21, 2023 from 3:00 PM

Tuesday, May 23, 2023 from 7:30 PM

Thursday, May 25, 2023 from 7:30 PM

Saturday, May 27, 2023 from 7:30 PM

Place

La Monnaie

Place de la Monnaie
1000 Brussels

T. +32 2 229 12 11 (Information)
T. +32 2 229 12 11 (Booking)
M. info@lamonnaie.be
http://www.lamonnaie.be

More information

Organiser

La Monnaie